Cupping oak solid hardwood floor

Discussion in 'Wood' started by patkelly, Sep 9, 2013.

1. patkelly

patkelly Member

Hi all, I'm new to this and just looking for some advice on the best way to solve this problem.

I had an oak solid hardwood floor layed about 11 months ago, floor is concrete and wood is floated with the t&g glued, foam underlay underneath.

At one end of the hallway the floor has always been a bit soft, that is a bit of give in the wood. This is at the narrowest point and is about 1 metre wide between two doorways. The fitter said we could expect some softness on a floated hardwood floor.

At the beginning of July this year I noticed one of the doors in the hallway was starting to stick when opened. In about two weeks other parts of the hall floor started cupping in different places. The part that was soft originally cupped really badly and at the centre was about 1 inch above the concrete floor.

I have contacted the fitter and shop where I purchased the wood but it's the usual story, they have got the money and just fob me off with excuses.

Opposite ends of the hallway are cupped pretty badly and two other places in the centre are also noticeably raised.

I have removed the skirting board at one end and the floor was tight against the wall. I have cut some of the wood floor away but this has not helped.

The problem seems to be that the wood flooring is tight up against the door jamb. The fitter cut away some of the jamb and slid the wood flooring underneath it. My guess is that they did not leave enough room for expansion and this is the cause as the cupping is at the doorways.

Does anyone have any solution to this? The only two solutions I can think of are:

1) Cut away a section of the door jamb to expose the wooden flooring underneath and then cut part of this that is tight up against the frame.

2) Cut a section of the wooden flooring around the door jamb, remove, cut part of it away, replace and patch up.