Employment wanted!

Discussion in 'Job Centre' started by Oli, May 20, 2019.

1. Oli

Oli Member

Hi, I was looking to find a way into floor fitting, I have no formal experience but I am keen and willing to learn. I live in the Peterborough area. Can anyone help me please?

2. Glenn H

Glenn H Well-Known Member

First step, ensure you a cscs card for contract work or you won't be able to step onto a site oli

3. Oli

Oli Member

Thank you for the advice, I shall apply for one immediately. I am finding it very difficult to find anyone who is looking for a mate in my area. Any advice on how to put myself out there to fitters for potential work experience at least? I just want to learn the trade and get a foot in the door.

4. Glenn H

Depends what route you want to take and attitude towards work. Domestic fitting or contract fitting?

Why the flooring trade out of interest?

There will be people happy to have helpers/labourers, give them the bare amount of training (If any) teaching them short cuts and poor practice methods of installing floors and let them get on with it. 6 months down the line the helper then believes they are better than what they are and want to go off on their own chasing the ££s.

As I said, it depends on your attitude,how you want to be perceived by the industry and your own integrity. If you want to just be like the the other 80% of fitters out there with the "that will do" attitude im sure you will find somebody to half ass train you...or conduct yourself in a proffesional manner, read up on types of flooring, their use and why they are specified for certain areas etc.

Prepare to learn how to sweep and clean an area properly and leave it dust free. Lift heavy materials around site, how to trowel out adhesive evenly, clearing up scraps of flooring, mixing up 100s of bags of latex etc.