Hello & Advice please!

Discussion in 'Introduce yourself' started by Hewitt84, Jun 14, 2016.

1. Hewitt84

Hewitt84 Member

Hi everyone, Steve here!

I'm 31, living in the Midlands and trying to keep this post as short as possible :) I've always worked sales/recruitment jobs but 3 years ago had to change my career completely and i'm now a bus driver o_O.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I'm good at DIY, hard working, fit & healthy and in the prime of my life (just about). I really want to try and do something for myself before it's too late and I've got it in my head that I want to become a self-employed floor layer. The plan would be to start with domestic carpet & vinyl and continue training & development to move into other areas.

I need advice on the following (in no particular order):

1. Van (I'm veering towards a Transporter LWB with folding passenger seats, although it's going to be expensive...).
    2. Tools (absolute essentials for someone starting out doing domestic installs)
    3. Training; Fita or Floorskills (I realise some may not have needed these courses, but I think they'd be invaluable to someone like me who has limited experience).
    4. Work Experience. I currently work shifts and am in the position to be able to work on my rest days for very little/free, however I still get the impression that people may not be keen to take me up on the offer as they would/could be training future competition (I have only spoken to a local carpet company so far, have not yet approached any individuals)
    5. Best time to make the jump: I'd love to be ready in time for September for the Xmas run but I think I'd be putting too much pressure on myself to achieve this. So I was thinking March 2017 after the New Year slump?

I'd love to know what people think, am I mental or thinking along the right lines? At the end of the day I can walk back into a bus driving job pretty much whenever I like, so it's got to be worth a shot hasn't it?

2. ROBSCOTT