LVT - the choices.......reasons why....

Discussion in 'Vinyl / Impervious floor coverings' started by Distinctive Adam, Jul 26, 2015.

1. Distinctive Adam

Distinctive Adam Well-Known Member

as most of you are already aware I have been a territory sales manager for distinctive flooring for over 2 and 1/2 years, we sell 2 ranges, one is life tile (mflor) which is design lead, the other is classics which is price lead.
    I've noticed over time that the quality of product isn't as important as how well the product is marketed, for instance all I ever hear or read is how awful the quality conrtrol is from karndean, however they are arguably the best in the lvt business at marketing their brand to consumers.
    oddly although we do our classics ranges which are more price driven (2.5mm .55 bevel wear layer) for similar costs to what most would pay for camaro 2mm .30 wear straight edge product, our best sellers are still are design lead ranges from our life tile ranges and are most expensive ranges are topped the choice lists.

My question is, how do you guys decide on what lvt ranges to take on and sell to your consumers? Is it look, price, brand awareness etc?
    I'm also seeing now in shops that no more than 3 lvt players are within any store, for instance amtico or karndean, with either us, project, Moduleo then a polyflor option....is this the same for you guys or are you grabbing what you can a bit like carpet?

Thanks and look forward to the responses.

Teamdistinctive

2. dazlight

dazlight Super Moderator

Got to be quality over price.
    Hate fitting anything smooth or tick Finish. Got to have a texture.
    Got to butt up perfect. Sick of fitting cheap LVTs that look cheap when down.

3. Distinctive Adam

What does that mean darren? What products will you only be supplying and fitting from now on?
    What about the job that comes along and your client wants to buy crap tile?

4. Lvtman

Lvtman Well-Known Member