Safety vinyl

Discussion in 'General Flooring Chat' started by dc22, Jun 28, 2018.

1. dc22

dc22 Member

Hi guys, I'm new to safety vinyl and seem to be doing a good job at turning a perfectly smooth floor into a bumpy 1 using F44 any ideas where I'm going wrong? There's so much conflicting information out there :(

2. Rugmunching

Rugmunching Well-Known Member

What's your usual procedure from gluing out to finishing?

3. dc22

dc22 Member

Trowel out the adhesive, lay into it while it's still wet then smooth out from the centre with a spreader or similar tool

4. Neilydun

Neilydun Well-Known Member

Should be fine, is it just air bubbles ?
    Have you been back the next day, to see if they have pulled down ?
    If your going into adhesive wet, you really want a cork board to push the air out, and make good transfer with the adhesive.
    Or let it go taki, and drop it in

5. dc22

dc22 Member

Yea I've been back the next day and they look the same, I've heard of people allowing the adhesive to tack completely and then dropping into it, but then f. Ball advise laying into in wet then using a 68kg roller side to side and end to end, but then If you need a roller of that weight surely it'd be easier to go pressure sensitive?

6. Neilydun

I find rollers a waste of time. Cork boards are better.
    You could try double drop, or just let the 44 go taki, and see how you find it.

7. dc22

dc22 Member

Thanks for the info! do you use 44 a lot then? When you say Cork board are you referring to like a decorators Cork board? Sorry for all the questions

8. merit

merit Well-Known Member

You sure it’s not the subfloor underneath? Needs constant hoovering back of the vinyl and floor and subfloor needs to be perfect. We started using the Uzin 2428 I think it’s called. Use a2 trowel and roll it and wet lay it and nothing shows through and no bubbles. Best I’ve used so far

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

9. mickyr2

mickyr2 Active Member