York or Grange Wilton & which underlay please?

Discussion in 'Carpet / Textile' started by Arianne, Feb 2, 2024.

1. Arianne

Arianne Member

Hello folks. This is my first post and I am no flooring expert. We’re about to invest a considerable sum of money carpeting our house and we want to do the right thing for a quality job that will last at least ten years. We’re dealing with a local carpet firm which have been here forever and is respected but I want to check a few things before we seal the deal next week. Thank you in advance for your help (I have used the search engine before posting, promise).

We want an 80:20 carpet (wool & nylon) so we’ve narrowed down the choice to Ulster York Wilton or Grange Wilton. We prefer the more dense pile of the Grange Wilton. From memory it’s £53 sq/m compared to £46 sq/m for the York range. We have no pets or children but the house has a through-lounge which means that this section of carpet will be subject to frequent use, as will the stairs.

First question: is the density of the Grange Wilton carpet worth the additional price?

Second question: which underlay?

The carpet shop people seem very knowledgable when discussing the carpet but, every time we try and raise the question of underlay, they quickly shut the discussion down and tell us that we should be buying the TreadAir (sorry if I’ve spelt this wrong) PU foam - their best is an 11mm deep version, although they have the same type with thinner depths. That’s all they have on display in the shop (it’s a pretty big carpet showroom). The 11mm TreadAir PU foam is £11 sq/m (I don’t think it’s linear metre but I may be wrong).