Laying Hardwood in an Octagonal Pattern

Discussion in 'Wood' started by jboris, Oct 19, 2023.

1. jboris

jboris New Member

I’m going to install a ¾” x 5” solid oak floor (Select quality) in an octagonal room, with concentric octagon “rings” of flooring. Every board will end with a 22.5º miter cut, in which I’ll route a groove and install a spline.

There are 2 options:
    1) Rings meet at miters (they won't let me post links... google octagon hardwood to see examples)
    2) Rings terminate at “spokes”, which come from a “hub"

Either takes a ton of precision. I’m a solid carpenter – and have installed a handful of solid floors, did an excellent job I’d say… but I’m but not a seasoned pro. I want to make up for that with good planning + patience :)

I lean to Option 2, because Option 1 requires *perfect* cuts to make that long hairline between the miters dead straight. The spokes will hide some discrepancy (and will mirror the ceiling beams). Option 1 also requires every piece in a ring to be the exact same width in order for the “ring lines” to look right – even a 5 1/64” piece will create gaps.

If I do Option 2… should install all the spokes up front or not? I say no – because I’m doing a glue-assist install (cleat-nails + stripes of Bona glue). I’ll have to dry-fit most pieces repeatedly to get a perfect fit… and once I’m there, I’ll have to remove the piece, add glue, put it back, and nail it. Problem is, pulling out a piece perfectly wedged in between 2 spokes is very likely to damage it.

So, here’s how I’d do it:
    1) Install an octagonal medallion with 5” L sides (so that I can use 5” W flooring for the spokes).
    2) Install just one spoke. Hold in place w/blocks.
    3) Install flooring up to it, stopping where the next ray goes. Stay straight w/14’ L straight-edge.
    4) Put a 14’ L straight-edge against the exposed edge, and sand any proud pieces to perfection (this is a major advantage of this method.