Newbie here... got my first LVT job coming up :)

Discussion in 'Introduce yourself' started by erisu, Nov 6, 2023.

1. erisu

erisu Member

Hi everyone,

Great to be here to learn from everyone! I'm a total newbie and never done any sort of flooring before so keen to know how it's all done :)

Currently have carpet and looking to rip it all up over the next few weeks and replace with LVT (The click and join type). Have some sort of idea how it's done but here to double check things over so do spare this newbie some daft questions :)

Cheers and great to e-meet everyone here!

2. dazlight

dazlight Super Moderator

Make sure there isn’t much direct sunlight on the floor

3. erisu

erisu Member

Thanks for the advise! What will happen? Will they expand/raise up?

4. dazlight

dazlight Super Moderator

They can do depending how much sun and how hot it gets. We don’t sell any clicks now. I will wait a few years to see How these new Rigid clicks do

5. merit

merit Well-Known Member

Ok first step…
    Take it back to where you bought it, and get a floor that works

6. erisu

erisu Member

Not sure what the reference is here, but under my old carpet is concrete so should be ok? (Understand the floor needs to be flat and levelled which I hope it is...)

7. merit

merit Well-Known Member

Lvt clic is terrible. Van Gogh rigid is the only one I’ve ever fitted and been impressed with. That and quickstep alpha. Both are over £40 per m2. The cheap ones are poorly made and the locking systems don’t work. Your better off with a laminate, engineered wood or a glue down lvt

8. erisu

erisu Member

The ones I want are Rigid Core click. Ordered a sample and it seems pretty tough and scratch resistant and very, very difficult to break the bevels/edges off?

Had a look at laminate but they're much cheaper but less waterproof and durable than LVT's I heard?

9. Paul webb

Paul webb Well-Known Member